Institute of Inorganic Chemistry

University of Stuttgart; Pfaffenwaldring 55; 70569 Stuttgart; Germany

University of Stuttgart; Pfaffenwaldring 55; D-70569 Stuttgart

Executive Director

Prof. Dr. Biprajit Sarkar

Room 3.102, Phone 0711 685-64171,


Dr. Klaus Hübler

Room 3.509, Phone 0711 685-64212,


Sara Ðula   
Room 3.367 Phone 0711 685-64211
Annette Kling 
(AK Sarkar)
Room 3.103 Phone 0711 685-64167
Dagmar Nerz   
Room 3.367 Phone 0711 685-64185
Lale Öztürk   
Room 3.103 Phone 0711 685-64174



Inorganic Solid State Chemistry

Jun.-Prof. Dr. B. Rasche

Solid State meets electrochemistry - this is the Rasche group. We are interested in new, metastable phases and their physical properties as well as potential new applications. The employed methods range from classic solid state synthesis and charactersiation, via various electrochemical techniques to in-situ X-ray diffraction of electrochemical experiments.

Contact Details

Prof. Dr. Th. Schleid

The research focus of the Schleid group lies in the field of inorganic solid state chemistry comprising mulit-anionic rare-earth metal compounds and investigations on their structure-property relationships.

He gives lectures within the modules "Vertiefte Anorganische Chemie", "Anorganische Synthesechemie für Fortgeschrittene" und "Solid-State and Materials Chemistry"

Prof. Schleid is chairman of the examination comission for the eduactional students in chemitry and he is BAFöG commissioner.

Contact Details

Inorganic Coordination Chemistry

Prof. Dr. B. Sarkar

Inorganic Materials Chemistry

Prof. Dr. R. Niewa

The group is working in the field of Inorganic Materials Chemistry of new inorganic materials or known functional materials in a novel form. A general feature is a sophisticated synthetic approach of the substances and the understanding of the synthetic routes.

He is responsible for the modules "Anorganische Synthesechemie für Fortgeschrittene (ACIII)", "Solid State Materials Chemistry" and "Grundzüge der Angewandten Chemie" and additionally lectures within the module "Vertiefte Anorganische Chemie".

He acts as Dean of Studies for the BSc and MSc degree programs in Chemistry and in this capacity is a member of the faculty's board. He is also a member of the Senate Committee on Teaching (Senatsausschuss Lehre und Weiterbildung).

Contact Details

Inorganic Molecular Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Ch. Sindlinger

Prof. Sindlinger investigates the synthesis of boroles and other molecules of unusual electronic properties and states with a particular interest in structure elucidation of both – atomic connectivity and electronic structure.

He focuses on:

  • Antiaromatic heterocycles and their coordination chemistry
  • Low-valent main group compounds
  • Hydrides and element-hydrogen bonding of heavy elements
  • Experimental and computational methods of structure elucidation
  • Heteronuclear NMR spectroscopy – experimental and computational

Contact Details

Academic Staff

Dr. Björn Blaschkowski


Practical course "Grundlagen der Anorganischen und Analytischen Chemie (AC I)", safety delegate

Contact Details

Dr. Vasileios Filippou


Practical course "Allgemeine und Anorganische Chemie" for environmental engineers and process technicians; lecture "Inorganic Chemistry" for degree courses WAREM and WASTE; Analytic

Contact Details

PD Dr. Ingo Hartenbach

The research focus of the Hartenbach group lies within derivatives of rare-earth metal molybdates and tungstates, especially in their suitabilty as luminescence materials.

His teaching comprises organisation and tutoring within the module "Einführung in die Chemie", laboratory supervision within the module "Praktische Einführung in die Chemie" and lecturing within the module "Grundlagen der Anorganischen und Analytischen Chemie".

Dr. Hartenbach is also engaged with recent problems in X-ray structure analysis, he is the deputy radiation safety officer and construction commissioner.

Contact Details

Dr. Klaus Hübler


ACII-module; ACIII-module; BAFöG; IT-Service, administration, delegate for construction concerns, delegate for machine shop concerns, structural chemistry, CSD searches

Contact Details

Dr. Falk Lissner


ACII-module; ACIII-module; X-Ray structure analysis, radiation safety officer, safety delegate

Contact Details


This image shows Biprajit Sarkar

Biprajit Sarkar

Prof. Dr. rer. nat.

Executive Director

This image shows Klaus Hübler

Klaus Hübler

Dr. rer. nat.

AOR - Administration

To the top of the page